Published August 14, 2018 by Paradise Kendra


The Cotswolds | England, UK

The Cotswolds is an area in south central England and one of the most unspoilt regions of the country, being officially designated in 1966 as an area of outstanding natural beauty. The rolling hills of Cotswolds rise from the meadows of the upper Thames to an escarpment known as the Cotswolds Edge, just above the Severn Valley and Evesham Vale. The typical Cotswolds towns are Burford, Chipping Norton, Cirencester, Moreton-in-Marsh and Stow-on-The-Wold.

Cotswolds’ name is attributed to the meaning “sheep enclosure in rolling hillsides,” incorporating the term “wold” which means “hills.” During the Middle Ages, the area became prosperous from the wool trade with the continent and its wealth can be seen in the ancient churches, historic houses, and other majestic buildings. The gardens and park lands are equally impressive. These assets are what made Cotswolds the representative of the quintessential English countryside. This part of England is not all about tall buildings and vast streets but rather about the old charm of its honey-coloured stone villages that spread on an area more than 160 km, where time seems to move just a little slower amid the hustle and bustle of the rest of the world.

Talk To Me

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: